Lester Wunderman

Lester WundermanThe second guru in our series is also a father … of Direct Marketing, Lester Wunderman coined the phrase direct marketing in the 60s and shared his pragmatic principles in the book Being Direct

Wunderman’s 19 Things That All Successful Direct Marketing Companies Know from Being Direct:

  1. Direct Marketing Is a Strategy, Not a Tactic!
  2. The Consumer, Not the Product, Must Be The Hero!
  3. Communicate with Each Customer or Prospect as an Audience of One.
  4. You Must Answer the Question “Why Should I?”
  5. Advertising Must Change Behavior, Not Just Attitudes!
  6. The Next Step: Profitable Advertising!
  7. Build the “Brand Experience”
  8. Create Relationships!
  9. Know and Invest in Each Customer’s Lifetime Value!
  10. “Suspects” Are Not “Prospects”
  11. Media Is a Contact Strategy!
  12. Be Accessible to Your Customers!
  13. Encourage Interactive Dialogues!
  14. Learn the Missing “When”!
  15. Create an Advertising “Curriculum”!
  16. Acquire Customers with the Intention of Loyalizing Them!
  17. Loyalty is a Continuity Program!
  18. Your Share of Loyal Customers, Not Your Share of Market, Creates Profits!
  19. You Are What You Know!

Wunderman’s new list: The Bill of Consumer Rights:

  1. Tell me clearly who you are and why you are contacting me!
  2. Tell me clearly what you are, or are not; going to do with the information I give you!
  3. Don’t pretend that you know me personally. You don’t know me; you know some things about me!
  4. Don’t assume that we have a relationship!
  5. Don’t assume that I want to have a relationship with you!
  6. Make it easy for me to say, “yes” and “no”.
  7. When I say no accept that I mean not this, not now!
  8. Help me budget not only my money but also my time!
  9. My time is valuable, don’t waste it!
  10. Make my shopping experience easier!
  11. Don’t communicate with me just because you can
  12. If you do all that, maybe we will then have the basis for a relationship!
One Comment

Add yours →

  1. How to think Digital [pdf] by the Wunderman Network

    http://pubs.wunderman.com/digital.pdf

Leave a Reply

